Empanadas (with two different fillings)

Hi you,

I hope your week has started nicely.

Me, I’m waiting the spring more and more each day and, each day it’s getting closer. So the odds are I don’t have to wait long anymore. And the end of waiting would almost instantly mean pique-niqueing.

I love pique-niqueing. Would you have guessed?

These empanadas that I made while still in Finland would be perfect for a pique-nique. The filling options are pretty much endless but like in most cases I think simplicity worked well. This means I chose to fill mine with red onions, tomatoes, cream cheese and grated cheese and with grated cheese and ham.

Both worked well warm and cold. Though I did prefer them a bit warm because I like warm cheese.

You can also fry empanadas but I wanted to bake mine so this dough is for baking the empanadas in an oven.

Also, I wanted to make mine sort of bite size so I used a coffee mug for cutting the circles from the rolled out dough.

Empanadas (makes about 18) Adapted from here.

1 cup flour

0,5 cups wholegrain flour

0,5 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 tablespoon sugar

250 g cream cheese

About 8 tablespoons butter

(And one egg for the egg-wash)

Filling option 1:

1 red onion

2 tomatoes

A few tablespoons cream cheese

100-150 g grated cheese (I used emmental)

Filling option 2:

150 g cold cut ham (that I cut to tiny pieces)

100-150 g grated cheese

1 tablespoon tomato puree

Sift the flour and other dry ingredients. Then in another bowl mix soft butter and cream cheese until well blended.

Then add the sifted flour and other dry ingredients and mix until smooth.

Put into the fridge for at least 30 minutes.

Don’t take the whole dough of the fridge because it’s much easier to handle when cold.

empada1

Roll out a piece of dough. Using any circle shaped thing cut circles off the rolled out dough. (Like I said I used a coffee mug.)

empada2

Then you fill these circles with the filling of your choosing and fold the circle into half. Don’t over fill them.

empada3

Then using a fork you’ll crimp the edges together.

empada4

This step you’ll naturally have to repeat a few times.

Give the empanadas an egg-wash before baking them in 175 Celsius/ 350 Fahrenheit for 15-20 minutes.

empada5

empada6

Enjoy!

3 responses

Leave a Reply

