Key lime pie with meringue

Hi you,

this internet thing makes me so happy most of the time. Sometimes it does stress me out a bit but most of the time it makes me happy that Tim Berners-Lee invented the world wide web.

The internet in example makes the world so small that I can follow and read the blog posts of different people in different countries. That is pretty amazing.

It also allows me to quickly find the simplest looking recipe for Key lime pie, something that I wanted to do for New Years eve.

The recipe was easy and quick like I needed but I baked it into too big a pie dish. If I had had more time I would have done another batch of the filling when I realized it wouldn’t be very thick. But considering this pie is SO sweet it was maybe a good thing that I didn’t have the extra time.

Key Lime Pie with Meringue (Adapted from Paula Deen)

200 g graham crackers

75 g butter

0,5 cup heavy cream

0,5 cup freshly squeezed lime juice

2 teaspoon grated lime zest

1 can sweetened condensed milk

3 egg yolks

Meringue: 
4 egg whites
6 tablespoon sugar

First you make the pie crust. Crush graham crackers into crumbs. Add soft butter. Mix together. Then fill a pie dish with the mix, make the crust and put it into the fridge to wait.

Mix the egg yolks and condensed milk. Add the lime zest and  juice, and cream. Pour the filling into the pie crust.

key1

Bake in 175 Celsius/ 350 Fahrenheit for 30 minutes. Take the pie from oven and do the meringue.

Beat the egg whites until the meringues begins to form. When you see the meringue has soft peeks you add the sugar a little at a time still beating constantly. Beat until the sugar dissolves but not too long. Spoon the meringue over the hot pie filling.

key2

Bake for another 10-12 minutes. And after you’ve taken it out from oven serve warm or cold.

key3key4

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

