A (simple yet great) Mushroom Pie

Hi there,

what’s up?

Is it all nice and snowy where you are? Or are you getting ready for the holidays with sun and warm weather as your companion?

It is so white in Helsinki that looking out my window all I can see is white. Literally. The sea has turned white, all the houses are white, the sky is white… And the streets are a mess. I do not know how us Finns, used to snow aren’t able to deal with it. Don’t even let me started about snowing and trains.

Well, I don’t complain because I don’t have a car and I don’t have to stress about where to park it. I do however have someone in my life who does have a car and maybe that’s why I made this mushroom pie the other night. Or maybe I’m just really into baking and pies. Who knows.

Mushroom Pie

For the dough:

2,5 dl of melted butter

About 1 dl oats

About 2 dl flour

Salt

2-4 tablespoons water

For the filling:

1 litre mushrooms (I used funnel chanterelles)

1 onion

2 eggs

1,5 dl cream

100 g cream cheese ( I used chanterelle flavored)

150 g grated Emmental cheese

Black pepper

piiras1

Mix all the ingredients for the dough except water, that you’ll add the last so you’ll see how much you actually need. The dough should be quite thick so you can easily pat it into your oiled pie dish. It is easier to do this if you dip your fingers to cold water if the dough seems to stick.

piiras2

Then you do the filling.If you use fresh mushrooms, first you fry them and the onion you chopped a little. If you use for example dried mushrooms you do not need to fry the onions. I didn’t.

piiras3

Then you add the eggs and beat them a little. Then you add the cream, cream cheese and grated cheese. Mix it all together, add some black pepper and pour on top of the pie crust.

piiras4

Bake in 200 Celsius/ 390 Fahrenheit for about 30 minutes.

piiras5

This time I served the pie I made with rucola. If I had had some I would also have had some cherry tomatoes and balsamic vinegar with that.

piiras6

Regarding the holidays, you might want to bake this pie into tiny pie dishes and then froze them until needed. They are a great appetizer.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

