Eggs baked in rolls with tomato-onion salad

Happy weekend!

I think weekends are kind of great, don’t you? Though I might not even be thinking about just weekends but days off from work. A day off is especially great after you’ve had to work more than 6 days a row.

Though I would not suggest you to do like Ferris Bueller did (you’ve seen the movie haven’t you? No? You must!) I suggest you to watch that movie on your next lazy day off. I haven’t done that in too long.

Because I’m writing my master’s thesis at the moment I really don’t have separate work days and weekends. That’s a bit of a bummer because that means I don’t really have any particular day just for weekending (that to me means big cups of coffee and long breakfasts).

I love long breakfasts. I think a best way to start a day is by first going on a little run or do yoga and then just sit down without any hurry. I try not to skip breakfasts but often I eat my porridge when I’m almost out the door already. I can’t even remember when I would have sat don’t to eat my morning porridge.

These eggs baked in rolls were pretty good for a long breakfast and I think the tomato-onion salad was a good pairing.

leipäset1

Eggs Baked in Rolls

Equal amount of eggs and rolls

Some cheese (I used pecorino but I bet cheddar would be very good too)

Butter

Salt

Black pepper

With a knife cut a hole in the roll and put about one teaspoon of butter into the hole. Then break an egg and put it into the hole as well. Add some salt, black pepper and cheese. Bake in 200 Celsius/ 390 Fahrenheit for 7-15 minutes depending on how cooked you like your eggs.

leipäset2

Tomato-onion salad

3 tomatoes

2 small red onions

Some dried/ fresh basil

Cut the tomatoes and onion into little pieces and mix with basil. Then serve together.

leipäset3

And because it’s your day off have a glass of the juice you like. I personally like blood orange. I sometimes wonder what it would be like to live somewhere where one could get fresh oranges straight from your own backyard. If you do, please tell me is it more than super?

leipäset4

2 responses

Leave a Reply

