Vanilla Panna Cotta and Happy Independence Day Finland

Hello you,

I hope you are well.

I’m feeling a little proud and emotional today. That’s because today us Finns celebrate our Independence Day. It’s been 95 years. Both of my grandfathers fought for this country and they have both already passed away so today is the kind of day when I usually think about them a lot. I think about the things they and several other young men went through and also the value independence has for me.

I also thought about the two great old ladies I interviewed for an article a few years back who volunteered during the Continuation War. And I think about how lucky I am to live in a country where soldiers you see in the street are there to collect money for the war veterans.

I often take it for granted because it’s something you just don’t usually think about, this independence and all the possibilities I have because of it.

To celebrate this day I think Panna Cotta would be a good option. It would also be a good option on day when you know you are having a big dinner and you want the dessert to be light. These portions were served with strawberry puree.

But next time when I make Panna Cotta I’m gonna serve it with crushed pistachios and have some fresh halves of passion fruit on the plate too.

Happy Birthday Finland, you are one great and beautiful place to live in!

pannac1

Vanilla Panna Cotta

2 dl of milk

2 dl of cream

0,5 dl sugar

1 vanilla pod

2 gelatin sheets

pannac2

Put the gelatin sheets in cold water and let them soak. Pour the milk and cream and sugar to a pot. Scrape the vanilla seeds of the pod. Add the seeds and the pods to the pot. Boil for 15 minutes. Take the pot of the stove and add gelatin sheets.pannac3

Mix well and then strain off the vanilla pods.

pannac4

Pour into molds or straight into the dishes you’re gonna serve them from. Let congeal for at least 3 hours.

pannac6

You get them of the molds easier if you dip the molds into hot water before trying to turn them over.

pannac5

Then serve in example with strawberry puree and enjoy!

2 responses

    • Thank you! The dessert bowls are my mums and kind of a classic finnish item called “Mariskooli” by Marimekko. Used not-to-like them but aging does wonders ü

Leave a Reply

