Chocolate cake with chocolate

So, it is time for this blog to finally be about cake. And because I’m a chocolate cake kind of a girl this cake is all about chocolate. (And some nuts, can you see a pattern here?)

I wanted to make a cake, that would be moist and truly chocolaty. I also wanted it to be sort of a weekend version of a coffee cake.

It came out good, indeed. But I am even more excited to try it today, because no matter how moist a cake you make… In my opinion most cakes just get better overnight, what do you think?

This cake is very easy to make. If you’d like to fancy it up when serving, you could whip some cream and add a few raspberries on the side. Me, I only need a cup of coffee or better yet an espresso and I’m happy.

Chocolate Cake with Chocolate

150 g butter

2,5 dl sugar

2 eggs

4 dl flour (I used all purpose)

2 teaspoons of  baking powder

1,5 dl milk

50 g dark chocolate

50 g milk chocolate

(And some nuts for decorating the cake if you wish)

First melt the chocolate and after melting leave it to cool.

You begin the batter by mixing soft butter and sugar together. Mix until light and clearly blended together.  Then you add eggs one by one, mixing the batter after adding each egg.

In a bowl, sift together the flour and baking powder. Then add to the batter. At this point you don’t have to mix the batter with that much volume anymore, only until just combined. Then add milk and again don’t mix too much.

Finally, add the melted chocolate that should now be cooled enough (you can obviously make sure by tasting a spoonful, I sure did).

Then pour the batter into a greased and floured cake pan. Bake for about 40 minutes in 175 Celsius/ 350 Fahrenheit. You can test the cake being ready with a toothpick. When it comes out clean, the cake is ready.

Let the cake cool a while before taking the cake out the pan.

Then you can do the ganache. (My absolutely favorite part).

Chocolate ganache

250 g chocolate (I prefer milk chocolate so I used that)

1,5 dl cream (save a few spoonfuls)

2 tablespoons of butter

You put all the ingredients together in a sauce pan and in very low heat let the chocolate melt so you can mix the ingredients together into ganache. Be very careful not to burn the chocolate and mix the ganache with a spoon all the time so it won’t stick. Let the ganache cool a while.

Now you can either use a knife to cut the cake in half from the middle so you can pour some ganache in in between the cake halves too. Or you can just pour all the ganache on top the cake without cutting it in half.

I wanted to make a two layer cake because, like I said before, I wanted the cake to be really moist. To make sure the cake would be really moist, I saved three spoonfuls of cream and I moistened the lower half of the cake with it. I then added the ganache and then placed the second half of the cake on top. The I poured the rest of the ganache on the cake and then decorated with salted nuts (peanuts, walnuts and cashews) because I really do seem to like the combination of sweet and salty.

And there you have it. I really do hope you like it.

4 responses

Leave a Reply

