About Thanksgiving

I have never hosted a proper Thanksgiving dinner.

We did make a huge turkey once. Served it with mashed potatoes and gravy and finished the meal with a chocolate cake. But I would not call that a real Thanksgiving.

A big reason to not hosting a Thanksgiving dinner might be that in Finland we don’t celebrate Thanksgiving. But after browsing through delicious looking magazines yesterday I have to admit that I would really like to have a dinner and see my friends gathered around one table.

And… It would give me an excuse to bake something like that.

Cake filled with whipped cream and red currant jam and topped with red currants and fudge.

2 responses

  1. Despite living in the US I’ve rarely do a “proper Thanksgiving” either. Partly because I think cranberries are gross but mostly because I’m always the weirdo who brings things like sushi and pot stickers to the party. 😛

    • Haha, I’ve never imagined cranberries could be defined as a gross food item, but I guess that’s just because I think they are yummy 🙂 You should definitely do your own kind of Thanksgiving, with sushi and without cranberries!

Leave a Reply

